Winners of the Cortona Prize

2019: Annika Socolofsky
winning piece: Don’t Say a Word (pierrot)

2018:  Tonia Ko
winning piece:  Reaction (Axis III) (fl/pno)

2017:  Pascal LeBoeuf
winning piece:  Obliquely Wrecked (vln/vc/pno)

2016:  Viet Cuong
winning piece:  Wax and Wire (cl/vln/vc/pno)

2nd Prize:  Xinyang Wang
Honorable Mentions:  Turkar Gasimzada, George N. Gianopoulos, Greg Steinke, Mark Wolf

2015:  Bin Li
winning piece:  Fuzhou, 1860 (vln/pno)
commissioned piece:  Concetto Spaziale 5 (vln/vc)

2014:  Dave Reminick
winning piece:  Consort (saxophone quartet)
commissioned piece:  Bird Songs (fl/cl/sax/vln/vc/pno)

2020 CORTONA PRIZE & CALL FOR SCORES (download info as .pdf)

The Cortona Sessions for New Music and the International Foundation for Contemporary Music invite composers age 18 and above (as of May 23, 2020), to submit scores for performance at the 2020 Cortona Sessions for New Music. Works may be up to 15 minutes in length (if a longer multi-movement work is submitted, select movements may be performed), and may be composed for any instrument or combination of instruments represented by the 2020 Cortona Sessions faculty. Composers of selected works will be offered immediate acceptance to the 2020 Cortona Sessions should they wish to participate. One work/composer will receive The Cortona Prize.


The Cortona Prize will be awarded to one or composer whose work demonstrates particular skill and innovation. This composer will be offered a tuition-waiver* to attend the 2020 Cortona Sessions, enjoying all elements of the festival. If they accept the invitation, their submitted work will be performed during the 2020 Sessions, and they will have all opportunities afforded to composition participants. If the recipient of the Cortona Prize chooses not to attend the Sessions, they will retain the title of Winner of the Cortona Prize, but will not receive the performance. Winners of the Cortona Prize may be offered opportunities to compose new works for the Cortona Collective.

*cortona prize winner must still pay for lodging for the duration of the Sessions, but all additional tuition costs will be waived

Cortona Prize Application
Add To Cart



Application Fee:  $35 - click button above to complete application
Submission Deadline:  November 1, 2019 (11:59pm CST)
Notification/Award Date:  December 15, 2019


Please complete the application and submit fee using the above link, then submit scores by November 1, 2019 in electronic format (.pdf preferred) via email to:    

  • Please put ‘Cortona Prize’ in the subject field.

  • Include: Your Name / Date of Birth / Phone / Email

  • Recordings/Midi may be submitted, but are not required (dropbox links are acceptable).

  • Scores will be distributed to all Cortona Sessions faculty members who will select all winners. 

  • Selected composers will be notified by email on December 15, 2019 and results will be posted online.



flute:  Sarah Brady (Boston Conservatory)
clarinet:  Gregory Oakes (Iowa State University)
saxophone:  Geoffrey Deibel (Florida State University / h2 Quartet)
violin:  Ari Streisfeld (University of South Carolina / Duo Cortona)
cello:  Kivie Cahn-Lipman (Youngstown State University / International Contemporary Ensemble)
piano:  Michael Kirkendoll (University of Kansas)
percussion:  Jie Hye Jung (Vanderbilt University)

Any combinations of the above are welcome  -  please note restrictions below

  • C flute and alto flute are both possible (please no piccolo or bass flute)

  • no bass clarinet please

  • works featuring tenor or bari sax may be submitted, but will not be eligible for performance at the Sessions

  • for percussion – only works including marimba, vibraphone, or small / body percussion are eligible for performance at the Sessions

  • works for solo instruments are welcome and encouraged

  • works with electronics will be considered, but the electronics should be small-scale and easily portable